Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Virtual Internship Project in Botswana
12 octobre 2009

A taxi drives me to my hotel : the Gaborone Sun

A taxi drives me to my hotel : the Gaborone Sun Hotel. It is a occasion for me to catch a glimpse of the city of Gaborone. The gap between rich and poor is striking there. As we pass along the Central Business District of the city, where I notice many luxurious buildings, the taxidriver explains me that the Botswanian people have managed to raise their standard of living, thanks to a good repartition of the money made by the diamond industry, and a low level of political corruption. I am struck by the number of building sites there : Gaborone is a very fast growing city, and very modern architecture mix with quickly-built houses which make me think of a shanty town. It so different from the organisation of our french cities !

« Aids is a disaster for our country » the taxidriver tells me. « In some city, up to the half of the adult population is contaminated ». I’m struck by these words. I begin to realise how different the life in Botswana is. There, precarity, and even death, are common events, living rather than surviving is still the major preoccupation for many Botswanian.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Virtual Internship Project in Botswana
Publicité
Publicité